Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, School of Mechanical Engineering



The Aristotle University of Thessaloniki is the largest university in Greece. The main campus is located in the centre of the city of Thessaloniki, and covers an area of about 33.4 hectares. It comprises 10 faculties which consist of 40 schools and 1 single-School Faculty.

Some educational and administrative facilities are located off campus for practical and operational reasons. A number of these facilities are located outside the city of Thessaloniki or even in other cities.

About 73.930 students study at the Aristotle University (65.026 in undergraduate programmes and 8.472 in postgraduate programmes, of which 3952 at Doctoral level). There are 2.024 faculty members. There are also 11 teaching assistants, 58 research fellows, 248 members of the Special Laboratory Teaching Personnel (S.L.T.P.), 69 of whom belong to category Ι and 179 to category ΙΙ, as well as 15 foreign language teachers and 4 foreign instructors. Faculty members are also assisted by 213 members of the Special Technical Laboratory Personnel (S.T.L.P.). The administration office consists of 400 permanent employees and 528 employees under a private law contract of indefinite duration. Moreover, 596 people employed by third parties provide services at the university.

The School of Mechanical Engineering of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki was founded in 1972.
About 1,000 students study at the School of Mechanical Engineering, whose staff consists of 30 faculty members, 19 assistants and 28 administrative employees.

The School of Mechanical Engineering is divided into three departments:
- Energy;
- Design and Construction;
- Industrial Management.
The School of Mechanical Engineering offers:
- BA Honours degree in Mechanical Engineering;
- MA degree and PhD degrees, as part of its graduate studies programme.