Municipality of Thessaloniki



The Municipality of Thessaloniki is the second largest municipality by population in Greece after the Municipality of Athens. According to the 2011 Greek census, it has a population of 324,766 inhabitants.[2] The municipality includes the historical center (including the majority of city's monuments[3]) and about one third of the Thessaloniki Urban Area. The Municipality is divided in six municipal districts; First which includes the historical centre of the city, the Thessaloniki International Trade Fair's, the University's regions etc., Second which includes suburbs such as Vardari and Xirokrini, Third (Eptapyrgio and Ano Poli) Fourth (Toumba), Fifth (Nea Elvetia, Charilaou, Analipsi etc.) and the former municipality of Triandria.